Lefkara Kato, Larnaca, CY
Stavrovouni Monastery | Map

Stavrovouni is a Monastery located 25 miles west of Larnaca, specifically on top of a rocky hill in Cyprus called Stavrovouni. Stavrovouni is a Greek word meaning Mountain of the Cross. Stavrovouni is a Greek Orthodox Monastery for men. The Monastery is dedicated to the Holy Cross. Tradition supports that the Monastery was found by Saint Helena in the 4th century. Saint Helena is the mother of Constantine the Great, and according to the tradition she left a piece of the Holy Cross to the Monastery, during her journey of return from Jerusalem to Constantinople. The brotherhood of the monks at Stavrovouni is extremely devout and keep religious tradition and regulations as strict as they do at the Mount Athos in Greece. On September 14th, which is the day of the Universal Exaltation of the Holy Cross, the monastery organises a glorious, religious ceremony as well as celebrations that follow the ceremony.

From the peak of the Monastery, visitors can admire magnificent, breathtaking views of the surrounding areas of Larnaca region; the Monastery stands at approximately 600 meters. The Stavrovouni Monastery is also known as Hill of the Cross. As of its history, the renowned monastery has always been a target for the various invaders of the island. During the Frank domination in Cyprus, the monastery came under the rule of the papal Monks for approximately two centuries. Stavrovouni Monastery has been abandoned and burnt multiple times, first in 1426 by Arab invaders and in 1570 by Turks. The monks returned and reoccupied the Monastery in 1670. Currently, the Monastery looks like its last renovation and reconstruction of the 19th century A.D. What is necessary to note about Stavrovouni Monastery, is that only men are allowed to enter and they must be decently dressed. Moreover, the use of cameras and video recorders is not allowed within the Monastery. Even though women are not allowed to enter the monastery, they can light a candle at the chappel found at the entrance of the Monastery.

Tel.: 22 533 630

Opening Hours: 07:00 - 11:00, 14:00 - 17:00 (September - March)

08:00 - 12:00, 15:00 -18:00 (April -August)